MMA / Los Angeles

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Chad Moechnig 1 year, 8 months ago.

• Author

Chad Moechnig
    Keymaster

Rem
    Post subject: MMA / Los AngelesPostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:47 pm

are there any places in the los angeles area that have training for women who may be interested in pursuing mma (and are respectful to women)? i have been doing bjj for a couple years and have competed a lot- but I wonder what it would be like to do mma type fighting. It would be my dream to go to Japan and fight there… but would have to train hard to not get an ass-kicking… where to train in LA?

also does anyone have thoughts on how do you keep your name / reputation “clean,” i.e. keep from having people sling sh#t about you,, trash your personal life…. can you be a mma fighter and still have your regular job and not have co-workers find out about your private life (unless you want them to)?…how much do the internet forums affect you? I know for me just reading them can make me angry and they are not even talking about me. Of course I am posting on an internet forum now…

I am new posting new to this board – please be kind
    thanks for any responses

Rem
    Post subject: PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 11:49 pm

and Laguna is too far for me to drive with the 405 traffic

Rick Alexio
    Post subject: re:MMA / Los AngelesPostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 11:13 am

Greetings, Rem…

If you’re out of the Valley you might want to try the RAW training center in El Segundo. Just like anything else, Women’s MMA will always have it’s share of detractors and a-holes, but I think as the sport continues to grow so will the respect for the women.

As far as keeping a secret from your family, sounds like a headache, perhaps some of the ladies can help you out there.

Best of luck.
    RA

Rem
    Post subject: PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:55 pm