Pregnancy Testing Debate

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Chad Moechnig 1 year, 7 months ago.

• Author

Chad Moechnig
    Keymaster

combatchaz
    Post subject: Pregnancy Testing Debate Post Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:48 pm

We are having a heated debate at Lock flow regarding this issue, we would love to hear some point of views of other female fighters.

btw, registration is free, so feel free to give your thoughts.

Rosi
    Post subject: PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:34 pm
    Pro Fighter

wow… well that debate is certainly high on emotion and low on information.

I’m not a doctor, but having looked into this, my understanding is that it’s highly unlikely that a foetus will be damaged by direct impact in the first 13 weeks of pregnancy. And it would take serious and probably life threatening injury to the woman first.

What IS known to be dangerous in pregnancy (at least if you’re a rat) is dehydration and prolonged overheating. So if you’re going to test MMA fighters, you should certainly be testing marathon runners. Which to my knowledge they don’t – in fact i’ve heard reports of women in the early stages of pregnancy competing in (and winning) long distance running.

There may or may not be some increased risk of miscarriage from the overall trauma of fighting (though current evidence suggests intense exercise on its own is not a risk factor)… but there is a high proportion of miscarriages in the first trimester anyhow, and all kinds of things which a woman is perfectly entitled to do just might increase that risk. Come to that, cleaning a cat’s litter tray could potentially cause serious foetal defects… yet i don’t see any campaign to stop pregnant women owning cats. It’s all about personal responsibility.

From a legal perspective, surely it would be sufficient to ask the woman to sign a declaration stating that she knows she’s not pregnant?