The age old dilemma of choosing where to train

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Chad Moechnig 1 year, 8 months ago.

• Author

Chad Moechnig
    Keymaster

lucyx
    Post subject: The age old dilemma of choosing where to train PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:00 pm

First; hi. I’ve been lurking here for a year or two, but never posted until now. Now, to the point.

I started training kickboxing 2 years ago, at the age of 19. Quit after a year because I was in horrible shape and felt like an idiot when I couldn’t keep up with the 16 year olds. Plus, it turned out I wasn’t Batgirl after all, and I kept getting HIT 🙄

Quitting was great, as getting your self confidence crushed twice a week kind of sucks. However, I miss it now. Fighting is fun, and I want to get in shape properly this time.

I’m considering 3 different places, all fairly different in both training and price. Equipment costs not taken into consideration, as I already have it (gloves and protection + weight training equipment and a punching bag).
    I intend to go check out all (well, maybe not the first as I already know what it’s like), but would appreciate your thoughts too. Here are the alternatives, any and all thoughts and suggestions welcome:

Style: Kickboxing

Schedule: Tuesdays + Thursdays

Price: $210/6 months ($35/month)

Other: Trained here for a year before. Very competitive club, known for making the best fighters in the country, both in semi contact and full contact. Fairly young scene, mostly 15-20 y.o. in the non-elite levels (age limit 14+). Instructors are often young too (although good at what they do). Don’t really like the atmosphere. Pay extra for 24/7 access to nice (plenty equipent, good weight area, bag area, 2 big padded floor rooms) but somewhat impractically located gym (20 min walk / 3 min bus ride from town). Lived literally next door to the gym that year and never used it much then, so I don’t think I would this time either.