It is currently Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:15 pm 

Hi all, Im in my last year of study at Leeds Met university and I am currently working on my dissertation.

I have an active interest in combat sports (boxing specifically) and my dissertation is about women who participate in a variety of combat sports and the social and cultural hurdles they have to overcome in what is traditionally a male dominated field of sport. The dissertation title at the moment is ‘Gender discrimination and general social/cultural attitudes towards women in combat sports’.

I chose this dissertation topic because I feel that in the past, the subject of female fighters has been met with much negativity, however I believe that things are changing slowly and the popularity of female MMA fighters such as Gina Carano, and also the recent decision to include female boxing in the Olympics, are a testament to the shifting social/cultural attitudes. I believe (and hope) this dissertation can provide a valuable insight into the world of female fighters.

Originally I was planning to create a simple questionnaire and post it in several different forums dedicated to female fighters and then analyse the results, but instead I decided that a more personal approach would be much more constructive as it would give a more ‘real’ account of the experiences of female fighters.

Having said that, I was wondering if any women fighters would be kind enough to share their experiences with me? You can choose to share as little or as much as you like, a few sentences or an entire essay is fine by me, it is completely up to you what, and how much you’d like to share. All contributions big or small are very much appreciated!