news women's martial arts MMA

FCF 135 Grand Prix First Round

FCF 135 Grand Prix First Round
FCF 135 Grand Prix First Round

FCF 135 Grand Prix First Round The Jan. 30 women’s MMA tournament’s opening round looks like a barn-burner, plus FCF needs your help to get it televised. Freestyle Cage Fighting has released their opening round matches for their historic 135 pound women’s tournament.

The winner of this tournament will receive a contract with Strikeforce.

AJ Jenkins (16-2) who is on a is on a six match win streak will be facing Sarah Schnieder (4-2), who is trying to get back on the winning track since her loss to # 1 ranked Sarah Kaufman.

Liz Carraro (5-5) and Jan Finney (6-7) are both looking to make it their third win in a row.

# 7 ranked Jennifer Tate (5-1) will face Kaitlin Young (4-3 pictured with belt) who will be trying to get back on the winning track.

And # 4 ranked Shayna Baszler (9-6 pictured with guitar), after losing to # 1 ranked 135 pounder Sarah Kaufman and # 1 ranked 145 pound champion Cyborg Santos, is hoping to get a win over Japanese journey woman fighter Megumi Yabushita (18-15).

FCF is hoping the tournament will be televised on HDNet, and FighterGirls and other women’s MMA websites are asking for your help.

Say that you want the Freestyle Cage Fighting Women’s Grand Prix on Jan. 30 to be aired on HDNet.

Spread the word. We will have more coverage of the tournament in the coming weeks.

Following decision victories at Freestyle Cage Fighting 40 March 27th Jan Finney and Shayna Baszler are set to face off in the finals of the FCF Women’s135 lb. Grand Prix June 12th. FCF advertises a guaranteed Strikeforce contract goes to the winner of this tournament which began at FCF 39.

FCF 135 Grand Prix First Round

Baszler and Finney have fought before back in July 2007, a fight Baszler won by armbar. At that time Finney was in a downward spiral in HOOKnSHOOT and Bodog FIGHT but over the last two years Finney has gone 5-1 with the one loss being to a heavier Erin Toughill. Before winning her first two rounds in this tournament Baszler was mainly known for her losses to both current Strikeforce champions, the heavier Cristiane Santos and undefeated Sarah Kaufman. On this show Finney defeated Adrienna Jenkins who fought in WEC’s first female fight while Baszler defeated Alexis Davis, a substitute for quarter-finalist Jennifer Tate best known for her fights against Molly Helsel and Tara LaRosa.

It took just over two minutes for “The Queen of Spades,” Shayna Baszler, to dispatch of fellow veteran Adrienna “AJ” Jenkins in the finals of the FCF Women’s Bantamweight Grand Prix last night. The final bout took place at FCF 43 in Shawnee, Oklahoma, with Baszler capturing the grand prix title with a first-round armbar.

The tournament underwent a number of changes throughout its five-month run, but in the end, Baszler emerged victorious and will now return to Strikeforce in hopes of getting a shot at the 135-pound women’s title. Baszler (12-6-0) was originally set to face Jan Finney in the tournament final, but Finney was released from her FCF contract in order to pursue a 145-pound Strikeforce title fight with Cristiane “Cyborg” Santos. Instead, Baszler took on Jenkins (17-4-0) and made an emphatic statement by submitting the 21-fight veteran in just over two minutes. Baszler took the fight to the ground and controlled position, then transitioned into an armbar to pick up her 11th career win by submission.

Result: Shayna Baszler defeats Adrienna Jenkins

by Submission (Armbar) at 2:12 of round one. She improves to 12-6-0 and becomes the FCF Women’s Bantamweight Grand Prix Champion.
With the win, Baszler receives a guaranteed contract with Strikeforce, where she previously battled current Strikeforce Women’s Welterweight (135-Pound) Champion Sarah Kaufman. She will either be part of the upcoming Strikeforce women’s tournament or be pegged as the next title challenger for the winner of the upcoming bout between Kaufman and Roxanne Modafferi. Baszler submitted Modafferi in their October 2006 meeting. She dispatched of Megumi Yabushita, Alexis Davis and finally Jenkins to capture the FCF tournament championship.

Shop The Fighter girls Store

Leave a Reply